The much-awaited ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup of 2022 is ready to get down to the business on 04 March  in Mount Maunganui. As many as 31 matches will take place in the 12th tournament over 31 days, with Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Tauranga and Wellington hosting the games across six venues.

The multi-team competition will be played in the league format, where all eight teams will face each other once. After the end of the league stage, the top four teams will qualify for the semi-finals.

The tournament opener will be played between the hosts New Zealand and West Indies at the Bay Oval in Tauranga on 04 March . Sophie Devine will be leading the White Ferns in the global showpiece event, and expectations will be high from New Zealand, considering they are hosting the tournament and possess all potential to become  the World Champions.

Interestingly, New Zealand’s lone success in the global tournament came 22 years ago when they hosted the event and defeated Australia by four runs in the final in Christchurch.

  • The ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 is all set to begin from 04 March.
  • Host New Zealand will face West Indies in the tournament opener.

Fixtures of New Zealand in Women’s World Cup 2022:

  • March 4 New Zealand vs West Indies at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui
  • March 7 New Zealand vs Bangladesh at University Oval in Dunedin
  • March 10 New Zealand vs India, at Seddon Park in Hamilton
  • March 13 New Zealand vs Australia at Basin Reserve in Wellington
  • March 17 New Zealand vs South Africa at Seddon Park in Hamilton
  • March 20 New Zealand vs England at Eden Park in Auckland
  • March 26 New Zealand vs Pakistan at Hagley Oval in Christchurch


Sophie Devine (c), Amy Satterthwaite (vc), Suzie Bates, Maddy Green, Hayley Jensen, Brooke Halliday, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Melie Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Frankie Mackay,  Katey Martin, Hannah Rowe, Georgia Plimmer,  Lea Tahuhu

Travelling Reserve: Molly Penfold

Broadcast and Live Streaming source in New Zealand:

  • Digital – SkyNow and SkyGo.
  • TV – Sky Sport 2 and Sky Sport 3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *