The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 16-member squad for the three-match ODI series against the West Indies this month. Where Shikhar Dhawan has been given the responsibility of leading the team. After the departure of Virat Kohli, Dhawan became the fifth cricketer to lead India this year.


The BCCI announced the squad ahead of the three-match ODI series against the Caribbean on Wednesday (July 7). Rabindra Jadeja has been given the responsibility as Dhawan’s assistant.

Regular captain Rohit Sharma has been rested for the series. Besides, Virat Kohli, Jaspreet Bumrah, Hardik Pandya and Rishav Pant have not been included in the squad for the series. Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jaspreet Bumrah and Mohammad Shamira, however, retired from limited overs long ago. They were also out of the squad for the five-match T20 series against South Africa at home last June.

The BCCI announced Lokesh Rahul as the team leader in that series. But Rahul did not come on the field due to injury. The burden of leadership goes to Pant. Meanwhile, Rishav Pant has been playing international cricket since the end of the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). That is why he has been rested for this series.

Meanwhile, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhaman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan have been named in the squad. Deepak Hooda has solidified his place by scoring an impeccable century against Ireland. The Dhawans will take on the Caribbeans five days after the end of the ODI series against England on July 18. The matches will be held in Port of Spain on July 22, 24 and 26.

Visiting India will play a five-match T20 series at the end of the ODI series. However, the BCCI is not announcing the squad for the short version right now.

India’s ODI squad:
Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Rabindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhaman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Aiyar, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Shardul Tagore, Mohammad Khanel, Yuzbendra Chahal, Akshar Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *