CONMEBOL- UEFA Cup of Champions is a special football match between the winners of the UEFA European Championship and Copa America. And the organization  CONMEBOL and UEFA arranges this championship. This special championship football match was last held twice in 1985 and 1993 before being discontinued. The competition restarted again in 2022. Check CONMEBOL- UEFA Cup of Champions Winners List of all season.


Year Winners Runners-up Host
1985 France Uruguay France
1993 Argentina Denmark Argentina
2022 Argentina Italy England


History of CONMEBOL–UEFA Cup of Champions

First editions and abolition

Created in 1985 as the European/South American Nations Cup, it was also referred as the “Artemio Franchi Cup” due the competition’s trophy, named after the late Artemio Franchi, former president of UEFA who died in a road accident in 1983. It was organised jointly between CONMEBOL and the European confederation, acting as an intercontinental super cup. The competition was the national team equivalent to the Intercontinental Cup on the club level, played between the winners of the European Cup/UEFA Champions League and Copa Libertadores.[6] The competition was to be held every four years, with the venue alternating between Europe and South America.[3] It was first played in 1985, between the winners of UEFA Euro 1984, France, and the winners of the 1983 Copa América, Uruguay. France hosted the match at the Parc des Princes in Paris, and won 2–0. The competition did not take place four years later, as the Netherlands (UEFA Euro 1988 winners) and Uruguay (1987 Copa América winners) were unable to agree on a date for the match.[7] The next edition took place in 1993 between the winners of the 1991 Copa América, Argentina, and the winners of UEFA Euro 1992, Denmark. Argentina hosted the match at the Estadio José María Minella in Mar del Plata, and won 5–4 on penalties following a 1–1 draw after extra time. The competition was discontinued thereafter.[8]

The Artemio Franchi Cup can be considered a precursor of the King Fahd Cup/FIFA Confederations Cup, played in 1992 for the first time and organised by FIFA from its third edition in 1997.[9][10][11] The competition featured title holders of the continental championships and FIFA World Cup.[12] After the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup, FIFA announced on 15 March 2019 that the tournament would be abolished.[13]


On 12 February 2020, UEFA and CONMEBOL signed a renewed memorandum of understanding meant to enhance cooperation between the two organisations. As part of the agreement, a joint UEFA–CONMEBOL committee examined the possibility of staging European–South American intercontinental matches, for both men’s and women’s football and across various age groups.[14] On 28 September 2021, UEFA and CONMEBOL confirmed that the UEFA European Championship and Copa América winners would face each other in an intercontinental match, with the agreement initially covering three editions starting in 2022. On 15 December 2021, UEFA and CONMEBOL again signed a renewed memorandum of understanding lasting until 2028, which included specific provisions on opening a joint office in London and the potential organisation of various football events.[15] On 22 March 2022, UEFA announced that the “CONMEBOL–UEFA Cup of Champions” would be the new name for the Artemio Franchi Cup.[1]

The 2022 match, known as the “Finalissima”, will take place between the winners of UEFA Euro 2020 (held in 2021), Italy, and the winners of the 2021 Copa América, Argentina, at Wembley Stadium in London, England.[16]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *